Lehrstuhl für BWL und Wirtschaftsinformatik - Prof. Dr. A. Winkelmann

    Geographical and historical facts


    The Federal Republic of Germany is located directly in the heart of Europe. It is bordered to the north by Denmark; to the east by Poland and the Czech Republic; to the south by Austria and Switzerland; and to the west by France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and the Netherlands. With 81.8 million inhabitants, it is the most populous member state of the European Union, and home to the third-largest number of international migrants worldwide.

    A region named Germania, inhabited by several Germanic tribes, was documented before 100 A.D. Beginning in the tenth century, German territories formed a central part of the Holy Roman Empire, which lasted until 1806. As a modern nation-state, the country was first unified amidst the Franco-Prussian War in 1871. After World War II Germany was divided into the states of East and West Germany until its reunification in 1990.

    Germany is a federal parliamentary republic of sixteen states. The capital and largest city is Berlin. Germany is a member of the United Nations, NATO, the G8, the G20, the OECD and has a special close relationship to the United States. It is a major power with the world's fourth largest economy by nominal GDP and the fifth largest by purchasing power parity. It is the second largest exporter and third largest importer of goods. The country has developed a very high standard of living and a comprehensive system of social security. Germany is recognized as a scientific and technological leader in several fields.


    The Free State of Bavaria is a member state of Germany, located in the southeast of the country and by far the largest German state by area, forming almost 20% of the total land area of Germany. Bavaria is Germany’s second most populous state with almost 12.5 million inhabitants. Bavaria’s capital is Munich.

    As one of the oldest states of Europe, it was established in the midth of the first millennium. The Kingdom of Bavaria existed from 1806 to 1918, and Bavaria has since then been a free state (republic). Bavaria is a predominantly Catholic state with a distinct culture.


    Wuerzburg is a city in the region of Franconia which lies in the northern tip of Bavaria. Located at the Main River, it is the capital of the so-called region of Lower Franconia. Wuerzburg is app. 75 miles east of Frankfurt and 70 miles west of Nuremberg. Its population is app. 130,000 inhabitants.

    The City of Wuerzburg was founded 704 and looks back on a long-lasting and powerful history. Several famous buildings including Marienberg Fortress, St. Kilian's Cathedral, the Juliusspital (Germany's first public hospital) as well as the world-famous Princebishop's Residence (UNESCO World Heritage site) are located directly in the city center.


    Lehrstuhl für Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Wirtschaftsinformatik
    2. OG 2
    Josef-Stangl-Platz 2
    97070 Würzburg

    Tel.: +49 931 31-80501
    Fax: +49 931 31-80680

    Suche Ansprechpartner

    Josef-Stangl-Platz 2